Program Overview


The expansion of the On My Way Pre-K pilot was authorized through House Enrolled Act (HEA) 1004 of 2017. This legislation provides for the expansion of the On My Way Pre-K pilot in 15 additional counties, for a total of 20 participating counties.

Original 5 Pilot Counties Additional 15 Pilot Counties
  • Allen
  • Jackson
  • Lake
  • Marion
  • Vanderburgh
  • Bartholomew
  • Dekalb
  • Delaware
  • Elkhart
  • Floyd
  • Grant
  • Harrison
  • Howard
  • Kosciusko
  • Madison
  • Marshall
  • Monroe
  • St. Joseph
  • Tippecanoe
  • Vigo

The legislation also includes other requirements for the On My Way Pre-K pilot:


  • Providers must be located in one of the chosen pilot counties.
  • Providers must meet the same eligibility standards as any program that accepts federal Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) vouchers. Providers do not need to accept the CCDF vouchers, but they must meet the requirements. More information on the CCDF standards is located on the Eligibility Requirements page.

Children and Families:
  • Children must live in Indiana and must be 4 years of age as of August 1st of the school year that the program is offered.
  • Parents or guardians living with an eligible child must meet the income eligibility requirements and must be working and/or attending an accredited or certified education or training program.
  • Eligible children who attend a pre-k program at an eligible Choice Scholarship school can receive a Choice Scholarship to attend the same eligible Choice Scholarship school for kindergarten without having to re-apply, if certain conditions are met.
Office of Early Childhood and Out-of-School Learning (OECOSL):
  • The state must complete monitoring visits for all On My Way Pre-K programs and grant recipients.
  • The state must perform a longitudinal study of children attending On My Way Pre-K programs, as compared with a control group not receiving services.
  • The state will research in-home early education services and reimbursement programs available in Indiana.
  • The state will create statewide capacity-building grants to increase the number of qualified early learning providers and/or expand the capacity of existing early learning providers.